Home Chakra A to Z Manipura Chakra

Manipura Chakra


The Sanskrit word Mani means “gem’ or ‘jewel’. the word Pura means city. Therefore, the word Manipura literally means the city of gems. It is so called because of the intensity of Pranic energy at this center. In the Gautamiya Tantra, it says, “The Manipura chakra is so called because it is lustrous like a sparkling jewel.” (ch. 34) It is often compared to the dazzling power of the sun, which continually radiates energy to the planets. Manipura Chakra is considered the seat of all fires: digestion, willpower, solar resonance, etc. Contains the power of creation and destruction. Shining, powerful, forceful. Mastery in controlling Manipura Chakra brings freedom from disease, alchemical ability, clairvoyance, and lasting happiness. It is related to Samana Vayu.


The chakras are Prana centers within the human framework. Chakra means wheels that are correlated with nerve plexuses with surrounding small plexuses. The Shad Chakra of the body controls the Mental as well as physical activity of different autonomic ganglia. In each person, there are myriad chakras. However, only a few main Chakras are utilized in yogic practice to get benefits. These few are the ones that span the full spectrum of man’s being from the gross to the subtle.

These Main Chakras are:

  • Mooladhara
  • Manipura
  • Vishuddhi
  • Swadhisthana
  • Anahata
  • Ajna
  • Sahasrara

Dr. Sahil Gupta - Ayurvedic Allergy Specialist

Have A Health Issue?

Consult Online

– Dr. Sahil Gupta (B.A.M.S., M.H.A.)

Ayurvedic Allergy Specialist
CEO & Founder of IAFA®

Description of Manipura Chakra

tantunà manivat proto yatra kandah susumnayà |

tan näbhi-mandalam cahram procyate manipuraham | 23|| 

(Goraksha Samhita)


The place where the “bulb” (Kanda) is strung on the Sushumna like a jewel on a thread is the chakra of the navel region called Manipuraka. The word tantu means a thread, like a sutra. That place where the Kanda is placed as if strung on the Sushumna is the navel region and is called the Manipura Chakra.


In the navel center is a blue lotus with ten petals lacing upwards named manipuraka. The petals are decorated with the letters from da to pha (da, dha, na, ta, tha, da, dha, na, pa, pha) which are blue-colored. In the center of the pericarp is a red circle of fire around which is the four-armed fire bija-mantra (ram) as bright as the sun, placed on a ram that has the shape of the swastika. Sitting on the lap of this seed syllable is the form of Maharudra, who is red and smeared with ashes. He is accompanied by his Energy named Lakini, who is blue.


  • Location – Navel
  • Color- Dark gray, red, blue (also gold)
  • Spokes- 10
  • Mantra- RAM
  • Element- Tejas (Fire)
  • Ruling Deities- Rudra, Lakini
  • Activity- Vision, Walking

Article Written By: Dr. Sahil Gupta, Ayurvedic Allergy Specialist

Google Reviews

Based on 97 reviews
powered by Google

Query Form

    Ask Our Ayurvedic Allergist


    +91 96121-80000



    Book on Ayurvedic Aspects of Allergies and Fungal Infections.

    Book on Child Health and Ayurveda.

    Follow Us

    Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe us on Youtube Contact us on WhatsApp

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Not satisfied with the information? Please send us your feedback at info@iafaforallergy.com

    Read More Articles

    Read More Articles

    Read More Articles

    Our Products

    No items found

    Read More Articles

    Read More Articles

    Read More Articles

    Read More Articles

    error: Content is protected !!
    Dr. Sahil Gupta's Online Consultation is Available from Morning 5:30 AM to Afternoon 1:00 PM, Monday to Saturday, in accordance with Indian Standard Time (IST).